ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

John Wight: Bang To Rights.

with 5 comments

Fresh is Grass has a superb post on the Kitsch British anti-imperialism and John Wight’s strange interpretation of the US/Israel relationship:

“John Wight is prone to compare Israel to various fearsome beasts. The “hydra-headed monster” was a good one. This time Israel is a “vicious bulldog” towing its master along on its leash. Idley contemplating the sort of creature John Wight reminds me of has been quite interesting.”

Read the rest.

Written by modernityblog

28/09/2008 at 01:09

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Some kind of burrower, I thought.

    fleshisgrass

    28/09/2008 at 01:14

  2. Would you recommend Bernard Porter’s ‘The Lion’s Share: Short History of British Imperialism’ (which I noticed in your Library Thing)?

    fleshisgrass

    28/09/2008 at 01:16

  3. Hmm, that’s a question

    to tell you the truth I can’t remember

    I do buy a lot dip in, put down and read something else, I have brought more than my share of less-than-perfect works of history, so I tend to scan scholarly reviews before making a sensible purchase

    my impression is that its not too bad, seems to be used on a few university book lists.

    sorry I can’t be more definitive :)

    basically,

    modernityblog

    28/09/2008 at 16:43

  4. Oh I’m glad somebody else does that (the squirrelling of books). I read soooo much slower than I buy.

    fleshisgrass

    28/09/2008 at 18:59

  5. [...] announced plans for a six-week lecture tour.” Update 2: Silly me, I had forgot that I have covered Wight’s disgusting views before. Possibly related posts: (automatically [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

