ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Archive for January 22nd, 2009

Eric and Press TV.

with 2 comments

Eric Lee was on Press TV’s Debate on Gaza War and they offer a video clip of it.

I haven’t looked at it yet, but what interested me was their insistence on forcing people to use Microsoft’s Silverlight, which a bit of a pain for all LInux users.

Or it was, the Debian Multimedia repository now has a copy of Moonlight which offers basic functionality to support Silverlight under Linux.

As I am currently using AntiX M7.5 and Gnome’s Epiphany browser I haven’t had a chance to play with Moonlight and Firefox just yet, so we’ll see.


Update:

Nope, that didn’t work, seems as if the Debian version supports Silverlight 1.0 but not Silverlight 2.0, which I’ll bet Press TV are using. I’ll have to check it out when I am next using Arch Linux, their Repos are nearly always up to date, unlike Debian’s.

Update 2:

There is a way to see the streams and I suppose suck it down that way, needs the bad and very bad Gstreamer codecs, but works under Totem, quality of the video is none too good tho.

Written by modernityblog

22/01/2009 at 04:05

Posted in Uncategorized

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers