ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Blogging, The Principle, Rev. Sizer And The Police.

with 8 comments

After my exchange with Roger Pearse I began to think that people looking in from the outside might not see the issues as clear as some of us, given our own closeness to these questions.

Firstly, I would like to point out that this is a point of principle for me.

I do not believe that bloggers who are conducting legitimate criticism or debate, with no criminal matters connected, should be the subject of State monitoring or visits by the Police.

I do not believe that the Police have any justifiable role in political criticism of blogs.

Of course, if there had been any criminal action or intent that might be another matter, but it is clear to anyone who wants to review Seismic Shock’s old blog that isn’t the case.

Granted, much of Seismic Shock’s criticism is rather pointed and relates to Rev. Sizer’s questionable political judgements and activities.

I am fairly sure that Rev. Sizer was extremely annoyed that someone took the time to analyse his views, point out the intellectual inconsistencies and point out how Rev. Sizer should think before linking up with some of these dubious characters.

But annoyance is not a criminal offence.

Even, as much as I might dislike Rev. Sizer’s views **I** would not want the police to question him over them.

In my view, Rev. Sizer is entitled to hold as many, or as few, obnoxious and detestable opinions as he wants, I would not like the State or the Police to question him, merely because of his views.

But by the same token, I think it is proper to debate the contents of Rev. Sizer’s views, as he makes them public.

I would recommend that readers peruse the remaining cached articles from Seismic Shock’s old blogspot.

Just click on the underlined cached link on the right-hand side of each article. [Or put, site:seismicshock.blogspot.com Stephen Sizer into Google and it will display the relevant posts.]

Please make your own minds up.

I don’t think that any of the criticism was too harsh, which is why I’m happy to repeat them here, to make the point that if Rev. Sizer wishes to attack Seismic Shock then he can take me on too, for I too am Seismic Shock!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent post, thanks.

    Aslan

    26/01/2010 at 11:32

  2. “I do not believe that bloggers who are conducting legitimate criticism or debate, with no criminal matters connected, should be the subject of State monitoring or visits by the Police.”

    Do you believe that “racist” blogs should be shut down? (or some other group you don’t like and whom the state is interfering with — the precise group is unimportant)

    If so, then your comment above means “I do not believe that blogs on subjects not proscribed by the state should be monitored by the state”.

    If not, of course, then your point stands.

    Pardon my caution; for years we had many on the political Left lecture us all, posing as the utmost champions of liberty … until they obtained power, whereupon they set about criminalising views they didn’t like, in a way that no-one had ever done to them. Such knowledge causes me to always look twice at such statements as that. Probably you were sincere. But we can never presume it, in these corrupt days. When men seek freedom, rogues will seek power by promising freedom, only to betray it.

    Roger Pearse

    27/01/2010 at 14:51

  3. Roger,

    Forgive me for being blunt, but you seem incapable of distinguishing between what is the criminal activity, action, intent and what is a civil matter?

    You will notice the key word there, legitimate

    Need we go over this, again and again?

    I would have thought that I’d make my self perfectly clear, yet you can barely acknowledge what I have written.

    No, Roger, I do not believe that blogs which I disagree with, but have no criminal action, activity and intent, should be closed down.

    Is that clear enough Roger? Will you do the courtesy of reading my comments and acknowledging them?

    I find the fact that I have to belaboured these points a bit annoying, particularly when you are so gifted with language :)

    modernityblog

    27/01/2010 at 15:02

  4. DO you believe racist blogs should be shut down? Yes or no? But I imagine the answer is ‘yes’ and you recognise that saying so would be inconvenient. You know… think. There’s no difference between your position and tyranny.

    Moving on, tho; I was thinking some more about Seismic this evening, and going back to the basics. Was he right to post that the police had been to call?

    I think he was. Definitely so, in fact.

    Roger Pearse

    27/01/2010 at 18:19

  5. Drat – the rest wasn’t posted. I was going to add:

    Whenever people are prevented by the police from saying things online, I think we the public need to know, and we need to know what they were prevented from saying, if only in broad terms. Because otherwise the mechanisms whereby horrible things (unspecified – all of us believe at least some things should not be said) are suppressed is the same mechanism whereby anything may be suppressed.

    I also think that a judge should be involved.

    But then again… would Seismic have felt better knowing that a warrant existed allowing the police to come and knock on his door? I somehow doubt it.

    We need a statutory right of free speech along American lines.

    Roger Pearse

    27/01/2010 at 18:36

  6. Roger,

    You ask many questions, but when I give you the answers you ignore them.

    Frankly, I’m not predispose to engage with you, you come across as rather insincere, a poor reader, an even worse thinker and rather leaden in your capacity to understand others.

    I might be wrong about that, but as you have consistently failed to engage with the issues then I am ill disposed to give you the benefit of the doubt or to restate might plainly obvious positions on these issues.

    You will have to rereads things and work it out for yourself.

    modernityblog

    27/01/2010 at 20:59

  7. [...] Contrary to Richard’s assertion, we can see the previous blog or parts of it from the google cache, as I highlighted in this post. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

