ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Of Memes.

with 2 comments

Flesh is Grass has tagged me for a meme, and it is a difficult one, choosing a theme for the blog.

Most people (and in particular Bob) wouldn’t find it hard, but I find it considerably harder than any political or social question of the day.

Still, I am entering into the spirit of things, I’ve a few tunes, now I was going to add some Ranchera but I have forgotten so many and I’ll spare readers Vicente Fernández’s Volver Volver.

As an alternative, Tito Puente is a good listen:

Next we move on to Motown, where do you start? The ups and downs, the changing line ups, I don’t know. The 1960s, what music ! Where to start? And how could I leave out funk? That’s a story in its self.

Any way, I finally settled on Jimmy Cliff’s Many Rivers to Cross:

Enjoy!

Written by modernityblog

20/05/2010 at 03:33

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You played! Jimmy, his tribulations and his pride – nice one. I love the way the audience brought percussion to Tito Puente. Going to start carrying castanets around, I think.

    fleshisgrass

    22/05/2010 at 00:12

  2. I tried :)

    Much harder than you can imagine, I was going for Vincente Fernández but they are mostly sloppy, then of course, there were a few Colombian tunes that I like, but…well…Jimmy did it for me.

    modernity

    22/05/2010 at 00:18


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

