ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Decline in Antifascism and the Consequences.

with 7 comments

In the past 30 years there has been a steep decline in antifascist activity in Britain, recently matched by an increase of Far Right activism on the web.

The Far right often run “outreach” programmes with slightly modified propaganda, toned down, aimed at broadening their influence. They often re-hash their ideas in a mixture of post modernist waddle, 9/11 scepticism and crude anti-capitalism. Some are fooled by this filth as the Jenna Delich case and the Tikkun magazine debacle show.

So I am glad to report that the AVPS has news of “September 20th: Stoke Anti-Fascist Activity”.

If you’re in that neck of the woods, why not pop along.

Written by modernityblog

17/09/2008 at 20:01

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Modernity.

    Checking out you blog for the first time. I followed you link from HP.

    You have approximately 12 weeks to start amusing me before I kick you off the favs list.

    Mesquito

    17/09/2008 at 22:15

  2. I refer you to my about page:

    “My blog is very modest, unlike me, it mostly contains my mutterings at 3am in the morning, after I’ve done my chores and any other stray thoughts that enters my, increasingly feeble, mind before bedtime.

    If you want cogent arguments, lucid reasoning or profound intellectualism then please look at my blogroll, not my blog.

    All I have is yours, which isn’t very much nowadays, so ends my impression of Uriah Heap.!

    https://modernityblog.wordpress.com/about/

    modernityblog

    17/09/2008 at 22:34

  3. Har! The pretentious rock band or the seed-drill guy?

    Mesquito

    17/09/2008 at 22:43

  4. the character from Dickens

    modernityblog

    17/09/2008 at 23:40

  5. Oh hell, Modernity. I’m truly ‘umbled. I was thinking of jethro tull. I don’t think U.H. was all that pretentious.

    Mesquito

    18/09/2008 at 19:05

  6. twas tongue in cheek, like a lot of my posts, Heep is a nasty piece of work and not very humble, despite saying:

    “‘When I was quite a young boy,’ said Uriah, ‘I got to know what umbleness did, and I took to it. I ate umble pie with an appetite. I stopped at the umble point of my learning, and says I, “Hold hard!” When you offered to teach me Latin, I knew better. “

    http://www.classicreader.com/read.php/bookid.51/sec.39/

    still, I did manage to fix that typo :)

    modernityblog

    18/09/2008 at 19:58

  7. [...] Decline in Antifascism and the Consequences. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

