ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Debating Anti-Jewism Racism.

with 5 comments

As anti-Jewish racism seeps into the public discourse via the British liberal establishment, it is apparent why those with a fixation or animosity towards Israelis or Jews are largely impervious to reason as a poster at Engage relates her experiences:

“Israelinurse Says: October 25, 2009 at 9:20 am

Yesterday’s event at the Bolton Octagon was, of course, predictably depressing. The actual format of the event did not and could not promote real debate because of its structure whereby the Director called upon people to speak and most simply recited pre-prepared statements slamming Israel. We endured all the usual slogans (ethnic cleansing, massacre etc.) and were treated to quite a few downright lies including the bizarre claim from Richard Kuper (JFJFP) that no rockets were fired into Israel in the months prior to Cast Lead.

I found it particularly revealing that Dr Brian Iddon MP (Bolton SE, Lab) repeatedly tripped himself up by saying ‘Jews’ instead of ‘Israelis’.

As one lady said to me during the interval, the Miller play which should have been staged at this event is ‘The Crucible’; not ‘All My Sons’.

A particularly significant moment for me personally was when, in the interval just after I had ‘outed’ myself as an Israeli, I suddenly found that the stairs and corridors leading to the lobby emptied magically before me as various audience members pressed themselves against the walls as though they were afraid of any type of contact. Far from being curious at the chance to meet a real Israeli, these people seemed terrified that something, anything, might upset their world view.

In short, this was an entirely self-indulgent event on the part of the assorted PSC supporters, ‘AsAJews’, anarchists and Quakers present. Nobody had come to listen, nobody had come to bridge gaps. Their aim was twofold; firstly to outdo each other as regards which shocking ‘fact’ about Israel they could publicly reveal, and secondly to obtain reassurance for their world view and the comfort of being part of a group which they perceive as being righteous.

I cannot say that I was surprised; most of my dealings with the PSC have been of this nature. The event did, however, strengthen my growing belief that Britain is becoming increasingly irrelevant as a place for open and democratic debate. What a pity that this particular section of the theatrical community is co-operating with the attempts of organisations such as the PSC to stifle any views which do not conform to their monotone perceptions. In a place such as Bolton, this would seem to me to be particularly unproductive.

The event also strengthened my view that Britain no longer deserves its Jewish community and that the only real answer to this despicable phenomenon is aliyah. “

[My emphasis]

Readers will remember The Crucible, Miller’s tale of a witch hunt.

Written by modernityblog

25/10/2009 at 18:32

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No one, not even the PSC of Bolton, deserves *any* play by Arthur Miller, and the addition of a ‘play’ by the execrable Caryl Churchill surely amounts to ‘cruel and unusual punishment’!

    David Duff

    25/10/2009 at 22:20

  2. Shit like this makes me wonder about the role of Fashion in human events.

    mesquito

    25/10/2009 at 23:40

  3. Not sure about fashion as such, but I certainly feel that themes play out in human history which echo other periods (not exactly, but with broad similarities) and I am not certain that we actually learn much from history as a society, despite having access to the knowledge of the ages, which our forefathers would have almost killed for…

    In this case, I think it just shows that Jews can not really rely on anyone but themselves. Jews in Britain have little power, etc and so no one really seems to care what they feel or what happens to them, I don’t like saying that but that’s how it seems to me.

    modernityblog

    26/10/2009 at 00:21

  4. When I say fashion, mod, I mean it in this sense: What are the Correct opinions in my insular little professional/cultural guild, and may I dissent from them? The lack of intellectual diversity in these area is depressing, and results, I fear, from intense cultural, economic, and social pressure. I swear, there is a much broader spectrum of views in my little Texas town (pop. 300) than in the London theatre scene. Or so it seems to me.

    mesquito

    26/10/2009 at 02:02

  5. Good point, group-think, common enough in business and wider life, I wouldn’t disagree with you.

    London is very, very diverse in so many ways, not just political outlooks, culture, etc but that is NOT reflected in the intelligentsia and certainly not in those groups obsessed with bashing Israelis. It is a bit like an obsessive compulsive disorder but in a political sense, if you see what I mean.

    I have found that these groups and the people that populate them are strikingly conservative (small c) in attitudes, you only have to ask them what books they have read or even read now and you’ll often hear a very small range that confirm their own outlook, then again look how these people react to new events and you’ll see them trot out the same old lines (like bored management consultants).

    And of course there is technology, that’s always a fair indicator of an intrinsically backward looking mentality, and not unsurprisingly many of the middle class obsessives that push the anti-Israeli guff seem almost allergic to using modern technology in a positive way, and are often dragged along instead of being in the forefront, etc

    I think my point is that the diversity found in London is not reflected in the small cliques, who hold the same views last year that they held 20 years ago, so sometimes we get a false impression because they seem the most prevalent and vocal, whereas it is amongst the British chattering classes that the most animosity towards Jews is to be found, not with ordinary people, by and large.

    modernityblog

    26/10/2009 at 02:49


Leave a Reply

