ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Hacks and Bits.

with 8 comments

Even big Newspapers get hacked.

The Guardian and identity crime!

A rather canny idea, use GPUs as bits in a Supercomputer.

Questions of Debian, I had a not undissimilar problem with Sidux ages back.

A forseeable side-effect of sacking IT workers, your computers systems will have more problems!

McKinnon.

Fake Google Chrome OS.

Like a better Opera?

Ubuntu a newer version.

Chrome’s slow take up.

Written by modernityblog

31/10/2009 at 05:43

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I clicked to see how Oprah could be improved. More coffee, please.

    mesquito

    31/10/2009 at 12:00

  2. I do politics and bits of technology. not TV!

    modernityblog

    31/10/2009 at 14:48

  3. Hey mod. I am the outer edge of my competence just leaving my comments here. Am I suppose to get some sorta upgrade now? My ‘puter says “VISTA” when I turn it on.

    mesquito

    31/10/2009 at 22:39

  4. Upgrade? Well Vista is junk, and I’ll do a post on it shortly.

    Nah, I’d get another PC, if you can install XP and then a good Linux distro, eventually migrating any data from your existing Vista PC over to it.

    Always have at least two PCs, etc and think how best to back it up.

    No matter what people say, avoid Windows 7 for 6-8 months, let other people find the problems, XP is not brilliant but it is a known quantity and much faster than Vista.

    modernityblog

    01/11/2009 at 04:45

  5. I have a service (Norton) that’s backs up my computer automatically. Is that good enough?

    mesquito

    01/11/2009 at 12:08

  6. Depends, but imagine one morning that the PC’s hard drive has broken, fully, what then? How would you get back your files and data?

    Those are the two questions that you need to ask yourself, what happens when it breaks and what do I do?

    modernity

    01/11/2009 at 14:54

  7. I always imagined that I would somehow repair or replace it, log onto to Norton, my computer could suck all my stuff back from some huge computer they have somewhere.

    mesquito

    01/11/2009 at 15:34

  8. how very trusting🙂

    modernity

    01/11/2009 at 20:33


Leave a Reply

