ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Reverend Sizer And Excuses.

with 17 comments

Seismic Shock picks apart more of Reverend Sizer’s excuses and rationalisations.

I do hope one day that Reverend Sizer can bring himself to admit how neo-Nazis, Holocaust deniers and the creme de la creme of Jew haters internationally were invited to Tehran and lionised, not because of some theological issues, but rather because they hated Jews.

Oh and Rev. Sizer if you are reading this, using the expression “Zionist” instead of “Jews” doesn’t fool anyone, the Extreme Right have been using that particular ploy for the years.

Written by modernityblog

20/02/2010 at 15:21

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well said!

    Stuart

    20/02/2010 at 15:43

  2. “I do hope one day that Reverend Sizer can bring himself to admit how neo-Nazis, Holocaust deniers and the creme de la creme of Jew haters internationally were invited to Tehran and lionised, not because of some theological issues, but rather because they hated Jews.”

    Just so, Pardner.

    mesquito

    20/02/2010 at 22:36

  3. Rev. Sizer if you are reading this, using the expression “Zionist” instead of “Jews” doesn’t fool anyone, the Extreme Right have been using that particular ploy for the years.

    I take it this means you are accusing him of anti-Semitism?

    P

    22/02/2010 at 18:12

  4. I take it you can’t read?

    modernityblog

    22/02/2010 at 22:08

  5. Is that a ‘yes I am making such an accusation’ or a ‘no I’m not’?

    P

    23/02/2010 at 11:02

  6. No, this is a “don’t put words into my mouth” reply

    I am perfectly capable of stating what I wished to state, I have never been accused of being subtle or hiding what I think.

    Again, I don’t think that Reverend Sizer is an antisemite, I have made that perfectly clear several times, but either you’re too stupid or dishonest to read those remarks, I suspect the latter.

    modernity

    23/02/2010 at 14:55

  7. Such a lovely man you are. I wonder whether a few years of boarding school etiquette training would have done you some good.

    I was trying not to put words into your mouth, hence why I asked you whether you thought he was or not. It was your phrase, ‘using the expression “Zionist” instead of “Jews” doesn’t fool anyone’ that caused my concern.

    Is it simply that you think that he’s just naive and insensitive in his use of the phrase?

    P

    23/02/2010 at 15:30

  8. Er, yes you got it, finally.

    modernity

    23/02/2010 at 15:36

  9. Well in that case I would suggest that you shouldn’t have usef the word, ‘fool’. It suggests that he is trying to trick someone into believing he is something other than he is not. Since you have just clarified that that isn’t what you think, it seems a little insensitive.

    Can I ask how you suggest someone should criticise Christian Zionism without slipping into naiveté and / or insensitivity?

    P

    23/02/2010 at 15:50

  10. You can suggest all you like, but as someone who has persistently and consciously argued in a dishonest fashion, you will have to forgive me if I ignore your counsel.

    modernity

    23/02/2010 at 16:00

  11. Did your mother never teach you how to disagree politely? You do your case no favours by shrieking abuse at the mildest provocation, or indeed none at all. This sort of behaviour only works for a while; then it becomes an excuse for censorship. Do you believe the establishment would be loathe to censor you?

    It is, of course, obvious that the only reason why the Iranians invite Jew-haters to a conference is because they believe that everyone who hates Jews will hate Israel. Why else?

    Although, thinking about it, is it immediately obvious that this idea that Jew-hating=Israel-hating is 100% correct? I can imagine that, if someone hated Jews, they could still believe without obvious unreason that the best and cheapest possible policy would be to immediately deport them all to Israel. (Indeed this is one way in which the existence of Israel just by itself tends to preclude a new holocaust; even the bitterest hater will consider expulsion just as good as gas chambers). I wonder, indeed, to what extent the Iranians miscalculate here?

    I do wish, tho, that some rational analysis of Stephen Sizer’s policy were occasionally attempted. His aim is to destroy the state of Israel, in just the manner and by the same tactics that Rhodesia and South Africa were destroyed. We need not expect him to say so; we need merely observe what he is doing, and how his efforts facilitate that aim.

    Roger Pearse

    23/02/2010 at 17:48

  12. Thank you Roger, when I want your condescending contribution I will ask for it.

    modernityblog

    23/02/2010 at 21:18

  13. Pity that when I ask for your intelligent contribution, I don’t get it.

    Roger Pearse

    23/02/2010 at 22:16

  14. Why would I bother?

    I have tried to engage you before, Roger, and found it a wanting experience.

    Like our friend, P, you have the capacity to misread obvious things, put the worst possible spin on them and assume that other people are lying about their own views.

    Given that, I don’t feel terribly charitable, or willing to indulge you.

    modernityblog

    23/02/2010 at 22:25

  15. No answer but personal abuse?

    Roger Pearse

    24/02/2010 at 15:23

  16. Why would I even try? Nothing would connect with you and P, so I am not bothered.

    modernityblog

    24/02/2010 at 15:38

  17. Well, this post read to me as a bit of an unfair allegation, which is why I sought to clarify. I’m glad you did so. I haven’t tried to argue in a dishonest fashion at all. I have only ever tried to engage you in debate. Moreover, in our previous discussion (which it looks like you have abandoned now) I moved some way towards you. You seemed unwilling to reciprocate in any way. I think that you seem too wedded to the idea that you are always right, and that other people’s points of view might have some merits to them.

    I don’t see the need for the personal abuse, though, as Roger points out. (Nice to see you again virtually Roger!) It’s a sign of defensiveness at best, moral and intellectual weakness at worst.

    I am genuinely interested in exploring the issues between Zionism and anti-Zionism, Christian Zionism and Christian anti-Zionism, anti-Semitism and criticism of Israel. Therefore I had a question, which I thought was reasonable. Let me repeat it: how do you suggest someone might criticise Christian Zionism without slipping into naiveté and / or insensitivity?

    P

    25/02/2010 at 17:56


Leave a Reply

