ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Richard Edmonds, The BNP and Zundel.

with 5 comments

It seems to me that as you get older the questions that troubled you in your youth rarely seem to matter, but one topic often comes up: memory, and more importantly why do we remember certain things and not others.

I would be the first to acknowledge that my faculties are incredibly diminished, but when I see a picture of the well-known neofascist Richard Edmonds my mind seems to come alive. I can picture him in my mind walking down the road, he’s tall and has a certain mannerism.

Why I remember him I can’t tell you, but I do.

Richard Edmonds has been a neofascist for over 30 years, from his time in the National Front and now in the BNP.

Edmonds like so many modern neofascists tries to hide his darker side and appear presentable, but his true character and real attitudes eventually come out.

Therefore, I was not too surprised when Edmonds went to provide support to Ernest Zundel.

Older readers will remember that Zundel is the genuine article, an unrepentant Hitler lover and the author of the well-known neofascist classic, “The Hitler We Loved and Why.”

The CST explains more.

Written by modernityblog

05/03/2010 at 23:11

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why are people like this, I just don’t understand….

    Stuart

    06/03/2010 at 08:19

  2. Stuart,

    Bear in mind he was a teacher before!

    Why, I’m not fully sure, but I think there exists in every society a small sociopathic, misanthropic element and whether or not that actually turns into fascism, the neofascism or something similar depends on the political circumstances and influences of that society, as far as I see it.

    Mostly these are fragmented individuals, twisted, bitter with their heads filled full of hatred and nonsense, and the problem is how to stop them gaining momentum.

    How to stop them coagulating to the point where they threaten others.

    modernity

    06/03/2010 at 13:08

  3. “… why do we remember certain things and not others?”

    Dunno. Can’t remember.

    As for the rest of the post … all I learn from it is that you hate this guy for political reasons. That’s rather nasty. All you tell me is that you seethe with hate for him. You don’t explain why, or why your hate for your fellow-man is acceptable, while his supposed hate for Jews is not.

    The evil little chap with one ball is dead, and long dead. We are in no manner of danger from people who want to dress up as Nazis, as far as I can tell. But the hate you display, and evidently find acceptable — hate you evidently feel no shame about — is terrifying. Is there any harm you would not be willing to inflict on these people, if you could get away with it?

    Roger Pearse

    06/03/2010 at 15:15

  4. please, might I remind those neo-Nazis and Hitler lovers who keep clogging up the moderation queue that their obnoxious views will find no outlets here.

    I would recommend them reading my comments policy, if they have the wits.

    modernityblog

    06/03/2010 at 20:20

  5. “We are in no manner of danger from people who want to dress up as Nazis”

    I presume “we” are not Jewish, Black, Gay, Muslim, Hindu, of a political stripe other than fascism or ultra-nationalist fellow travelling or at least safely ensconced from what “we” are not

    socialrepublican

    09/03/2010 at 21:04


Leave a Reply

