ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

On A Lighter Note.

with 11 comments

Sometimes, maybe sometimes I should cover lighter topics, with the new World Cup coming up I thought I would ask my readers to contribute their football (that’s soccer for American readers) picks.

I would freely admit I know next to nothing about modern football, but I do enjoy quality international sports.

I shall be supporting Argentina, for a number of complex reasons. 🙂

Update 1: Here’s a list of the World Cup groups.

Update 2: FIFA has done a good chart of the fixtures.

Update 3: A TV guide for Brits, Ireland, Europe and bits of North America.

Written by modernityblog

09/06/2010 at 18:28

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know zilch about soccer, mod. But every world cup I watch a few games. I cheer for the USA, our homeboys Mexico, and The Old Country (Norway — did they even qualify?)

    There’s something very pleasant about the pace of soccer, I’ll admit. One side presses, then the other, with rising tensions and hopes for or shot or a goal nearly always disapponted.

    mesquito

    09/06/2010 at 22:42

  2. I know nothing, but South Africa are playing Mexico in the opening game on Friday…I’ll route for them too, they were my 3rd choice after Argentina, Brazil, etc

    The other teams I tended to support ain’t in the world cup….

    updating the post.

    modernityblog

    09/06/2010 at 23:03

  3. I shall be supporting New Zealand All-Whites and Anyone-But-England-or-the-DPR-Korea. Srsly, why no demand for a Sporting and Cultural boycott of DPRK?
    Hmm, I wonder…

    DavidAbstract

    10/06/2010 at 02:24

  4. @ mesquito:

    Norway played in 1938 and also 1994 and 1998, than coached by Egil “Drillo” Olsen (a former member of the Arbeidernes kommunistparti (marxist-leninistene))

    btw.: anyone but Germany!

    entdinglichung

    10/06/2010 at 08:55

  5. Portugal, of course!!!

    Sarah Correia

    10/06/2010 at 09:05

  6. North Korea have got to be favourites but I’ll go for Spain.

    richardmillett

    10/06/2010 at 10:27

  7. I am supporting Spain. Might be my last chance to see Torres in a Red* shirt for a while…

    * Liverpool FC reference

    Julia Smith

    10/06/2010 at 11:39

  8. joint transitional demand of the Spartacist League of Britain and Workers Power Britain on the occasion of the 2010 football world cup: “unconditional military (not political) support (without illusions) of the team of the deformed & moribund workers state North Korea”

    entdinglichung

    10/06/2010 at 12:09

  9. Thanks for your picks, I shall try and publish a bit more on the world cup as we go along.

    modernity

    10/06/2010 at 12:35

  10. Thanks for that🙂

    modernityblog

    11/06/2010 at 23:32


Leave a Reply

