ModernityBlog

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” Abraham Lincoln

Not An Orwell.

with one comment

Bob has entered himself in the yearly Orwell prize and whilst I don’t share his desire for blogging fame it did remind me of something I wanted to do.

Since last November I have been meaning to correlate some of my “best” posts of 2010.

Partly a way of reminding me of what went on and what I argued then, and if any of it stood up to the passage of time, that I am not so sure.

Still readers can make up their own minds.

Reading through my back posts I realised how much I posted in 2010, a lot, some months over 50 posts.

So here is just a starter my pick of January 2010. It is all very subjective and incomplete, but you might enjoy some of them.

The Legacy of Soviet Anti-Zionism.

Galloway, Hamas And Political Theatre

Sri Lanka And The Tamils

Reverend Stephen Sizer Uses British Police Against A Blogger.

What is Gaza Really Like?

Stephen Sizer, The Police And The Barbra Streisand Effect

The Knock At The Door

Seismic Shock: The Video

My favourites are the one on Galloway, and Reverend Sizer and Barbra Streisand affect.

I wish Bob good luck with the Orwell prize.

Update 1: Andy Newman has a good post on the Orwell prize and makes some rather pertinent points:

“Blogging is a difficult medium, because once you start putting your opinions into the public domain, and inviting comments, then it is extraordinary how worked up some people get.

But what makes blogging a distinct social medium is that level of interactivity; and where I think the Orwell Prize judges have been wrong since its inception is in treating blogging just as a series of articles that just happen to be on-line, rather than in a magazine. This rather misunderstands the nature of the medium, and in particular disregards the particular form of creativity necessary to create and maintain a public discussion place.”

Written by modernityblog

19/01/2011 at 15:57

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And thanks again. I don’t think I stand a chance, and if it wasn’t self-nominating I would nominate someone other than me!

    And thanks for all the great blogging in 2010

    Bob

    20/01/2011 at 14:47


Leave a Reply

